Return to Headlines

Wedgwood Fifth-Graders Win Annual Scarecrow Contest at Duffields Farm

WW Scarecrow Winner


WW scarecrow The incredible creation of Wedgwood Elementary fifth-grade students in Alexa Woodward’s and Renee Bonfiglio’s class captured first place in the District’s annual scarecrow contest sponsored by Duffields Farm Market.  This year’s theme was “Scarecrows in Space.”


Challenged with depicting a creation that celebrated the 50th anniversary of U.S. moon walk, space and flight, the students crafted “E.T.- The Extraterrestrial” made famous by the Stephen Spielberg movie.  As contest winners, the class was treated to a hayride and pizza party, courtesy of Duffields, on October 30th. Duffields’ visitors cast their votes in determining the winners.


Students in Jim Cho’s class at Bells Elementary earned second place with “Groot” from “Guardians of the Galaxy.”  A depiction of “Buzz Lightyear,” made famous in the “Toy Story” movies, earned Chris Brolly’s class at Hurffville Elementary third place.


Other out-of-this world scarecrows included creations of aliens from Area 51, Princess Leia from “Star Wars,” and a NASA astronaut.


Members of the winning design class included: Tarik Aljaf, Kylie Berk, Colin Boyle, Julie Castellanos, Maurice Cochrane, Jr., Ryan Crean, Ava Cruz, Drew Dorsey, Evan Eschenbach, Christina Frizano, Marlena Grassi, Avery Kraus, Jacob McFarland, Jayniyah McMillian-Allen, Brayden Mumbower, Giselle Pescatore, Jude Pomarico, Jessica Pyne, Brianna Rainey, Xavier Riggins, Nolan Rollins, Sean Scott, Destinee Sutton, Mia Taxis, Justin Taylor, Michael Tummings and Jofred Walker.