Return to Headlines

Washington Township Public Schools Announce 2021-22 Support Staff Professionals of the Year 

support staff


Washington Township Superintendent of Schools Joe Bollendorf proudly announced the 2021-22 Support Staff Professionals of the Year, marking the fourth consecutive year that the District has singled out employees outside of certificated staff for recognition.  


The 12 honorees will be celebrated at the Board of Education meeting on Tuesday, May 24, 2022, at 7 p.m. in the Eileen Abbott Central Administration Building (206 East Holly Avenue, Sewell, NJ). 


“It is my privilege and pleasure to shine the spotlight on a group of professionals who are most deserving of this honor,” Bollendorf said. “Quite honestly, the growth and successes that occur daily in classrooms in every school in this District could not happen without the countless contributions of these folks, often behind the scenes, who are truly dedicated to their assignments and this District. They are our unsung heroes, and we are happy to honor them in this way.” 




Elementary Support Staff of the Year  

Kristen Palombi, Clerical Assistant/Birches Elementary School 

Theresa Slawski, Special Education Assistant/Birches Elementary 


Middle School Support Staff of the Year  

Christine Waddington, Special Education Assistant/Bunker Hill Middle School 

Manuela Martino, Special Education Assistant/Chestnut Ridge Middle School 


High School Support Staff of the Year  

Dina Furlong, 11-12 Health Office Assistant/Washington Township High School 

Anthony Piscielli (posthumous), Student Supervision Assistant/Washington Township High School 


Food Service Support Staff of the Year  

Linda Scaramuzzi, Assistant Cook/Washington Township High School 


Transportation/Bus Driver Support Staff of the Year  

Brandon Vignola, Bus Driver 


Custodial Support Staff Member of the Year  

Sean Silver, 11-12 Custodian/Washington Township High School 


Maintenance/Mechanics/IT/Security Support Staff of the Year  

Jim Sturniolo, Technology Support Specialist Coordinator/IT Department 


Secretaries of the Year

Dana Twardowski, Thomas Jefferson Elementary School

Nicole Trabosh, Washington Township High School